Help!!!! :(

Decorating By Nunu112 Updated 20 Nov 2012 , 6:54pm by KoryAK

Nunu112 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nunu112 Posted 20 Nov 2012 , 12:05am
post #1 of 3

AHey,

So I'm trying to make a cake for my friends birthday. I'm no professional just bake in my spare time at home but want this to be as perfect as possible. So making a normal chocolate cake with fresh whipped cream filling and then covering it with fondant. Just wanted to know if there is anything I need to do before covering the cake with fondant like do I cover it with something else first cause I was just covering it with cream this while time. Also wanted to know how to get my fondant to harden a bit as I tried putting a fondant covered cake in the fridge and it came out sticky and shiny. :D

2 replies
jiya11 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jiya11 Posted 20 Nov 2012 , 3:13am
post #2 of 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunu112 

Hey,
So I'm trying to make a cake for my friends birthday. I'm no professional just bake in my spare time at home but want this to be as perfect as possible. So making a normal chocolate cake with fresh whipped cream filling and then covering it with fondant. Just wanted to know if there is anything I need to do before covering the cake with fondant like do I cover it with something else first cause I was just covering it with cream this while time. Also wanted to know how to get my fondant to harden a bit as I tried putting a fondant covered cake in the fridge and it came out sticky and shiny. icon_biggrin.gif

I am no professional either but this is how I do it.

I have made a cake using fresh whipped  (stabilized with agar agar powder) and fresh strawberries but have done butter cream and not fondant on that. HERE I try to keep my filling non-perishable when it comes to fondant cakes but a lot of decorators (experts and pros) do.