Buddy's Cakes At Grocery Stores

Lounge By Kaytecake Updated 16 Nov 2012 , 5:13am by Spuddysmom

Kaytecake Posted 15 Nov 2012 , 11:41pm
post #1 of 7

Hi Everyone! I saw Buddy V's cakes in my local store for the first time. They were priced around $28 for an 8" at one store and $19 at another bulk store. My family and I were curious about them because we did watch his show for a couple of seasons- so I bought the Bada Bloom Cake. They had a Chocolate Da Bomb, a carrot cake and a red velvet. I tried the Bloom cake because it had a layer of vanilla and chocolate, plus fudge filling. We tried it and were underwhelmed. I'm no expert baker so I might not appreciate the type of cake that he uses. They might be the "sponge" that they refer to on the show. The texture was a little odd and the taste was sort of bland. Not bad at all- really. Maybe I expected something else. The fudge filling was very yummy but the butter cream was just awful. It didn't have good flavor and had a weird, waxy feel in your mouth. I'm thinking it's the amount of food coloring they have to add to make it so bright. It's a cute cake, but I wouldn't buy it again. Not sure if I'll try any of the others. Has anyone here tried his grocery store line of cakes and/or the cakes he offers at his bakery? Curious to see if they are similar or not. :)

6 replies
Spuddysmom Posted 15 Nov 2012 , 11:49pm
post #2 of 7