Ganache Has Taken Over Buttercream...

Decorating By missamylynn06 Updated 24 Oct 2012 , 10:05am by Danilou

missamylynn06 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missamylynn06 Posted 20 Oct 2012 , 4:54am
post #1 of 10

Im a huge ganache fan. Makes cakes look incredible and makes decorating for me a lot easier. Im glad I started to do this for my fondant cakes instead of buttercream, but makes me wonder if people miss having buttercream under their fondant ...has anyone had a client tell you they didn't want a ganached cake and wanted buttercream instead?? icon_smile.gif

9 replies
Alwayzmakincake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Alwayzmakincake Posted 21 Oct 2012 , 11:26pm
post #2 of 10

I haven't had anyone say anything. I have also decided to only use ganache under my fondant cakes. It makes it so much nicer and clean looking! thumbs_up.gif

mariana_vcnt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mariana_vcnt Posted 22 Oct 2012 , 3:21am
post #3 of 10

okay...so I'm very new at this....and I ALWAYS use buttercream under fondant. To be honest i HATE it!!! it's sooooo messy! but now that you mention that you use ganache under fondant, now that sounds very interesting. Do you just pour the ganache over the cake and let it set? or do you use a ganache that is not runny (sorry so asking a question that may be very obvious to others...its just that I'm very new at this and don't know much yet)

missamylynn06 Posted 22 Oct 2012 , 3:44am
post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariana_vcnt

okay...so I'm very new at this....and I ALWAYS use buttercream under fondant. To be honest i HATE it!!! it's sooooo messy! but now that you mention that you use ganache under fondant, now that sounds very interesting. Do you just pour the ganache over the cake and let it set? or do you use a ganache that is not runny (sorry so asking a question that may be very obvious to others...its just that I'm very new at this and don't know much yet)