Buttercream Finish For A Wedding Cake

Decorating By mgostin Updated 16 Oct 2012 , 12:01am by mgostin

mgostin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mgostin Posted 11 Oct 2012 , 8:58am
post #1 of 10

Hello! I'm new to cake central and this is my first post to the forum! My name is Madie and I'm a cake decorator from Melbourne, Australia.

In a few weeks I will be doing my first wedding cake with a 'Buttercream' finish to it and I have a few questions to ask to make sure I get it right icon_smile.gif.

1. Should I dirty ice/crumb coat the cake before I do the finishing decorated layer, if so how many times?
2. You know how sometimes white buttercream turns yellow when its placed in the fridge or left to sit out, how can this be prevented? Should it be covered?
3. In the image the bride sent me, the effect is almost like an unfinished look, like you can see the different ways the palette knife has moved across the cake.

Any advice would be much appreciated and really look forward to the answers! Thank you!

9 replies
3D-Sweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
3D-Sweets Posted 11 Oct 2012 , 1:29pm
post #2 of 10

Hi, Madie, and welcome! (I'm new, too.) Answers to your questions:
1. Yes, crumb coat. Do it as many times as you need to get all the crumbs safely encased and the surface smooth.
2. I've not had this particular problem, but I use real butter in my recipe so it's always a bit yellow. You can add white coloring to help the color stay consistent. Anyone else have a better answer here??
3. Are you looking for how-to on the finish? Frost like usual, then go back with a small amount of frosting on your knife and lightly smear it on, smoothing a little but not too much.

Good luck!

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 11 Oct 2012 , 10:30pm
post #3 of 10

......2. You know how sometimes white buttercream turns yellow when its placed in the fridge or left to sit out, how can this be prevented? Should it be covered? ...........