Quick! Help Deciding On Cake Flavor/filling.

Baking By Vick9js Updated 10 Oct 2012 , 3:31pm by Jaybay

Vick9js Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Vick9js Posted 10 Oct 2012 , 1:07pm
post #1 of 5

I have a cake to make this weekend for a baby shower and the lady's favorite cake flavor is raspberry. I was thinking of making my normal strawberry cake just doctoring it up to be raspberry and filling the cake with lemon curd. Do I need to use an additional layer of filling with the curd? I have never used it before and most recipes I see have it with a layer of buttercream or something. Or should I go for a lemon flavored filling like http://cakecentral.com/recipe/lemon-cream-filling that isn't quite as strong tasting? Or would this not be a good flavor combo and I should just scrap the idea altogether and stick with something like a white chocolate ganache? Your advice is greatly appreciated!

4 replies
Dani1081 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dani1081 Posted 10 Oct 2012 , 2:12pm
post #2 of 5

How do you make your strawberry cake? Is it a box mix? If so, how about using a white cake mix and adding raspberries and raspberry flavoring to get the flavor you want? If it's scratch sub raspberries for the strawberries. Whenever I use lemon curd I always put down a thin layer of vanilla buttercream also. I just like that flavor, not necessary. I also have added lemon flavor to my buttercream for filling - people love it - more like a lemon cream.

Vick9js Posted 10 Oct 2012 , 3:21pm
post #3 of 5

Thanks so much! I use a doctored box mix so like you said I will just sub the strawberry stuff I normally put in for raspberry equivalents. I think I might try just the lemon flavored buttercream-less work and I'm a little nervous about how strong the lemon curd will taste. With the buttercream I can just adjust to my liking. Will try the lemon curd soon though with a white cake, it looks and sounds so good!.

Vick9js Posted 10 Oct 2012 , 3:25pm
post #4 of 5