Huge Cracked Bubbles In The Fondant!! Aka Cake Farts!

Decorating By Ebrohier Updated 5 Oct 2012 , 12:07am by Ebrohier

Ebrohier Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ebrohier Posted 4 Oct 2012 , 2:23pm
post #1 of 4

Hi guys
I am very new to this, recently trained @ Planet Cake in Australia, living in Singapore. Whilst my on 2 weeks @ Planet Cake i did the basics and intermediate course and loved it got on really well and did an amazing job on all my cakes. Back to Singapore with 90% humidity and working with ganache, was okay as i was told to add 1880g to 2kg of good quality dark coveture chocolate to 600ml cream.. all was fine.. but i just keep getting these air bubbles in my cakes (cake farts) sorry or language.. but i have no other way to describe them and the worse thing is they appear after i smooth the edges, and decorated the cake and transferred it to my cake board.. so i am stuffed and cannot remove the fondant and recover it. I have been told that it is because my cake hasn't been brought back room temperature is that true? I store all my ganached cakes in the wine fridge where there is no humidity. The annoying thing is that on practice cakes where i am not giving them to someone it has been fine!! It is cakes that are for orders and need to go out.. i am gutted.. please can someone help? I am doing another run (practice this weekend) in the hope to solve this issue and get back on the band wagon icon_smile.gifouch.gif looking forward to comments

3 replies
kvand Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kvand Posted 4 Oct 2012 , 2:53pm
post #2 of 4