Cust. Serving Another Cake And Not My Ordered Cake At Party

Business By Jazzbythebay Updated 28 Sep 2012 , 5:11pm by costumeczar

Jazzbythebay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jazzbythebay Posted 25 Sep 2012 , 10:07pm
post #1 of 33

need some advise please...

A customer has ordered a cake from me for the 2nd week of Oct. Today I found out that she intends to cut the cake that I made at her son's birthday party and thereafter save the cake for her family get-together a day later. All the kids at the party will recieve a supermarket cake in their party bags.

I am concered about this because i feel that the kids and their parents will see my decorated cake which will be cut at the party but will receive and eat a supermarket cake thinking it is mine!! Not sure how to handle this situation. Cust is also a friend. I am just starting out with my cake business and dont want people to have the wrong idea about my cakes...

Any advise on how to handle this situation? Sud a clause be added in my terms & conditions?

32 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 25 Sep 2012 , 10:22pm
post #2 of 33

Well you must be pretty close to this customer to hear such detailed plans. I think that she wants to save the good cake for her own family, and you can understand that.

The best idea that you can float informally, would be that cake in goody bags is going to get messed up. Maybe it would be a better idea to put something else into the bag that will survive the trip home.

I can't think of any sensible addition to your terms and conditions. You would do better to actively market items like simple cupcakes to match the birthday cake. Don't say what they could be used for, just say "matching-cake-batter swirl cupcakes available $xx per dozen"

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 25 Sep 2012 , 11:04pm
post #3 of 33