How Much Time To Bake Mixed Batter

Decorating By mrsg1111 Updated 21 Sep 2012 , 2:51pm by mrsg1111

mrsg1111 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsg1111 Posted 20 Sep 2012 , 4:11am
post #1 of 9

I'm sure this has already been addressed but didn't find any posts on it.

I am trying to cut down the time it takes to bake. I wanted to mix 3 batches of batter so it's ready to bake. I can only bake 2 cakes at a time since i only have 1 pan of each size (i'm a hobby baker and only bake for friends and family). I have to make 9 layers. Do you have to bake immediately after mixing or can i mix it and have it sit out while each cake is baking?

8 replies
Jessielynn21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jessielynn21 Posted 20 Sep 2012 , 4:40am
post #2 of 9

I have made batter and let it sit on the table while others are baking, I just covered and gave it one quick mix before I put it in the pan. I have also stuck it in the fridge, but i'm always a little afraid because most mixes say to have all ingredients at room temp. I only do that if I am waiting overnight and I let it come back to room temp. before baking.

vgcea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vgcea Posted 20 Sep 2012 , 4:43am
post #3 of 9

Depending on the type of batter and leavening used, you can refrigerate or freeze batter till you are ready to bake. Google is your friend. Search for: refrigerate batter cake central. Loads of threads on the subject.

Wildgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wildgirl Posted 20 Sep 2012 , 6:55am
post #4 of 9

I've covered & refrigerated some and it was fine when I baked it later.

BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 20 Sep 2012 , 11:02pm
post #5 of 9

Why not mix the next batch while the first set of pans is baking? Then all the batches will sit the same length of time.

How long batter can sit also depends on the kind of batter. Spongecake made with whipped egg whites is NOT going to bake OK after sitting overnight.