How To Find Qualified Help?

Business By CakeInfatuation Updated 25 Sep 2012 , 12:49am by tracyaem

CakeInfatuation Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeInfatuation Posted 15 Sep 2012 , 11:32am
post #1 of 9

I need to hire some help for my shop. I posted an ad on craigslist and have the job posted on my website but the bulk of the responses I'm getting are from (what appears to be) hobbyists whose friends must tell them that they are amazing but if I hired them, I'd be the weekly joke on cake wrecks.

I have NO IDEA what the going rate is for a qualified decorator (southeastern pa) and this is my first time hunting for employees.

I did get a quote for workman's comp insurance and am going with a part-time decorator to start. But I feel so lost with HOW to find the decent decorators with some experience, and enough natural talent/skill, that I can train them the way we do things without having to train them to HOW to decorate. I need capable and skilled.

Oh yea... the other thing.... I have gotten several people applying who already have a website and a business. Why would I want to hire my competition?

Help!!!??? How do I find qualified candidates? What kind of questions should I be asking them at interviews? How do I determine who is worth an interview? And does anyone here know of someone in Southeastern PA (northwest of Philadelphia (bucks county) that has some skills and needs a part time decorating job that doesn't already have a business and has a good work ethic and some integrity?)

8 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 15 Sep 2012 , 12:29pm
post #2 of 9

You should ask for their portfolio.

Apart from that I think the best interview is to hand them a dummy and ask them to decorate it...sitting at a desk and talking might deal with some issues but will not show you as much as the test.

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 15 Sep 2012 , 1:43pm
post #3 of 9