Dowel Rods ???

Decorating By Arianette Updated 11 Sep 2012 , 2:09am by BlakesCakes

Arianette Posted 9 Sep 2012 , 8:30pm
post #1 of 10

I've decided to make this cake for my daughter first birthday next week-end icon_biggrin.gif
http://www.wilton.com/idea/Big-Decision-Cake

I went to the store this morning to get everything I need for the cake, but they didn't have the hidden pillars. The seller just told me to use a piece of round thin cardboard (like the thin sheet under cakes bought at the bakery) and put two or three dowel rods under it.

I'm a beginner in tiered cake and I don't know if I should trust this trick.
What do you think ?

9 replies
CWR41 Posted 9 Sep 2012 , 9:12pm
post #2 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arianette

I'm a beginner in tiered cake and I don't know if I should trust this trick.
What do you think ?

It's not a trick... dowel rods have been used in cake construction for decades.
http://www.wilton.com/cakes/tiered-cakes/stacked-tiered-cake-construction.cfm

Arianette Posted 9 Sep 2012 , 10:35pm
post #3 of 10

Well I know that dowel rods are usefull in tiered cakes, and this I trust, but why does Wilton suggest hidden pillars for this particular cake ?

My concern is that the bear is ''sitting'' on the corner of three different cakes, so it is weaker. But if you tell me it's OK I'll just go with the rods....

How many should I put ?

CWR41 Posted 9 Sep 2012 , 11:01pm
post #4 of 10
Quote:

Well I know that dowel rods are usefull in tiered cakes, and this I trust, but why does Wilton suggest hidden pillars for this particular cake ?

Because they recommend using a 6" plate and the hidden pillars fit on the four plate nubs.

Quote:

How many should I put ?