Help!!! Asked To Make Cake By Pounds???

Decorating By naiyyar Updated 9 Sep 2012 , 6:23pm by CWR41

naiyyar Posted 1 Sep 2012 , 8:13pm
post #1 of 15

Hello all at the CC world.

A friend of mine has asked me to make a 4 pound cake. no other information yet as i have to call her and discuss. so would like your tips and guidance plz.

I would like to ask What is better: cakes by weight or servings?

I am wondering how can we make a make a cake whose final weight is 4 pounds? HOw do the bakeries do this? I mean i have no control on the weight of the cake plus frosting and icing on it. and i do only buttercream cakes. NO FONDANT.

Plz PLZ i need ur expert opinions at the earliest. If cake by pound is not ok i can also talk her into making the cake by servings. then again , how can i calculate the cake by serving. how big will it be. also as im a beginner, i havnt made tiered cakes. so i will making only a single tier cake . iv only made 6 inch round cakes and heart cakes. How can we calculate the size to make a single cake without tiers depending on the number of servings in mind??

eagerly waiting for all ur replies.

THANK YOU.

14 replies
kelleym Posted 1 Sep 2012 , 8:17pm
post #2 of 15

In some countries, cakes are measured by the pound. I would just ask her how many people she is serving and explain to her that is how cakes here are measured.

BakingIrene Posted 1 Sep 2012 , 8:19pm
post #3 of 15

If the iced cake will weigh 4 pounds, the cake part should weigh about 2.5 pounds. But that will depend on whether you have a deep pan and do not add icing to the middle of the cake. It will also depend on what kind of icing you put on.

Please tell us about this customer--it is not a usual question to be asked to make a cake by weight this way.

ApplegumPam Posted 1 Sep 2012 , 9:31pm
post #4 of 15

You are making me think I am nuts icon_surprised.gif

I just replied to this and thought ... sheesh - what happened to my post?