I Need To Vent

Decorating By gimmesugar Updated 2 Sep 2012 , 6:08pm by Godot

gimmesugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gimmesugar Posted 28 Aug 2012 , 3:28am
post #1 of 10

I've agreed to make a 3D cake that resembles someone's home. It's a small cake that'll only need to feed 10-15 people... and I told the customer that I would get the cake to resemble the home... and gave them a quote they agreed to. In the last few days they have been blowing up my emails with additional pictures of this house and want almost an exact replica of it! They know I'm a home baker and they only gave me 4 days notice, which I could do but not if they want a replica of their house; which is why I told them I'd get it to resemble the house. :/ If they wanted all the details they're now telling me to add to the cake, I wish they would've said it up front and I would've charged more for the additional materials and time I'll need to spend. How do I tell them to either stick with the original plan or I'm going to up the price?

I'm actually thinking about quitting cake making. I seem to only get customers needing small birthday cakes which end up costing me more in time and $ than the business I get from them icon_sad.gif

9 replies
heartsnsync Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heartsnsync Posted 28 Aug 2012 , 3:38am
post #2 of 10

Just very nicely respond and say, "Yes, I can add that but it will be an additional $$. Would you like to pay that additional charge for this upgrade?"

In no other business could you call and ask for more product and expect not to pay so why think you could do that with a cake?

You were very nice to agree to do this in four days time. I would have said no as I require a longer notice and payment up front for cakes involving detail like that.

ChristineCMC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChristineCMC Posted 28 Aug 2012 , 3:39am
post #3 of 10