Mud Cake In A Pyrex Bowl? Help Needed!

Decorating By meganclarke Updated 27 Aug 2012 , 12:31pm by BakingIrene

meganclarke Posted 24 Aug 2012 , 8:22pm
post #1 of 10

I am in need of some advice here! To skip the background info, scroll down a little and you'll see my question.

The goal is to make a hill shaped cake, quite simple. Although, I'm a bit of a newbie to the baking world (I'm only 16). I have been researching for weeks on loads of stuff because I want this cake to be perfect, since it's for my mom.

First of all, I would like to point out that I am very limited on baking equipment. I only have the basics and essentials. That leaves me with my deepest pan being just shy of 2 inches deep (8 inches wide). I also have a pyrex bowl (2.5L/10 cups). If it is absolutely necessary, I can go buy a few things.

The plan is to make a caramel mud cake because they are supposedly best for carving and can carry the weight of butter cream and fondant. Originally, I planned to split the batter between two of the 2inch deep pans, bake it, layer them, freeze it over night, then carve it into a hill shape the next day. (Yes, I know it isn't very big. My family doesn't eat a whole lot of cake.)

Then, I read about using a pyrex bowl to get a round shape. Doing this would be a lot easier.

So my questions are:
(Keep in mind that this is a Caramel Mud Cake and the recipe is for a deep 8-inch round pan. Recipe says cook for 2 hours at 150°C )
Can I get away with using the Pyrex bowl, or will the mud cake not bake correctly.
If I can,
1. How should I prepare the bowl? ex. baking paper, grease, flour?
2. How can I ensure that the cake bakes evenly throughout? ex. flower nail, etc?
3. Should I adjust the baking temp/time or keep a close eye on it?

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I appreciate any help so much. icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
BakingIrene Posted 25 Aug 2012 , 1:43pm
post #2 of 10

The pyrex bowl is perfectly good to use to bake in.