Please Please Help...advice Needed!!!

Decorating By 1Stacey1 Updated 11 Sep 2012 , 10:27pm by kakeladi

1Stacey1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
1Stacey1 Posted 24 Aug 2012 , 7:31am
post #1 of 5

I am fairly new to cake making and I am doing my first wedding cake. It is a vanilla sponge, buttercream and jam filling. I have coated each layer in Gnash and Icing and it looked lovely.

Over night the bottom layer had slid forward, middle to the side and all layers have bulged, it is now a very wonky cake and looks terrible! I don't have time to re-do the icing because the wedding it TOMORROW!

Is there anything I can to do without having to re-ice the whole thing?

Thank you in advance!

icon_cry.gif

4 replies
Relznik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Relznik Posted 24 Aug 2012 , 7:59am
post #2 of 5

Probably not.

Did you dowel it? I'm wondering why it would have moved so much.

Can you post a picture?

Bluehue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bluehue Posted 24 Aug 2012 , 8:12am
post #3 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Stacey1

I am fairly new to cake making and I am doing my first wedding cake. It is a vanilla sponge, buttercream and jam filling. I have coated each layer in Gnash and Icing and it looked lovely.
Hmmmm, i am thinking that there is too much filling - and that the Ganache coating is too heavy for that type of cake.
For me - i would never cover a Sponge Cake in Ganache... as it can weigh the cake down.

After filling the cake - did you let it settle...Before the coating of Ganache went over the top?[

How many layers were there to the cake?
Did it need dowelling

/b]

Over night the bottom layer had slid forward, middle to the side and all layers have bulged, it is now a very wonky cake and looks terrible! I don't have time to re-do the icing because the wedding it TOMORROW!

Is there anything I can to do without having to re-ice the whole thing?