How Do I Get Started!??!?

Decorating By boke0402 Updated 24 Aug 2012 , 3:06am by msthang1224

boke0402 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
boke0402 Posted 22 Aug 2012 , 8:45pm
post #1 of 6

Hi cake-bakers!
I have been researching sooo much about baking fondant cakes! I want to make a special cake for my daughter's 3rd Birthday. It will be like Minnie mouse! I have a large Minnie mouse topper made of styrofoam that I ordered online at Etsy.com. It has my daughters name and age, along with Minnie. It's my first time. I feel confident in baking, but I just need a few things clarified!

My idea for her cake is to use a rectangular 11x15 inch baking pan. I was thinking of a strawberry cake. For the frosting, I'd like to use a rich chocolate butter cream. Then for the top, I would use a MMF and it would be pink. I want to cut out white circles and paste them onto the cake. I want to flavor the MMF with strawberry as well(since I am coloring it pink anyways.)

But I do not want to have to refrigerate the cake, so I am wondering what kind of butter cream recipe to use? I have read that using butter works best because it hardens better and leaves a smooth finish. But I also read that ganache is good for a filling too. I have nooooooooo idea!!

Also wondering how soon to start baking the cake, and steps to take. Birthday is on Saturday. So should I begin making the fondant Tuesday night and seal it and put it in the fridge? Should I put the pink dye in it before it is refrigerated or wait until I am ready to apply it to the cake? I would them bake the cake Wednesday night? Thursday make filling and put fondant on? Then Friday apply the circles on? How do I apply the circles!? Should I use a egg white or put some water onto the fondant? If I cut the circles out after I make the fondant on Tuesday night, how should I store the circles??

I know I have a lot of mixed in questions...but if anyone is willing to answer just one question or offer a recipe I'd be very happy!