Pricing Help - 40" Tall Toddler-Sized Standing Cake

Business By btrsktch Updated 28 Aug 2012 , 9:22pm by Addictive_desserts

btrsktch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
btrsktch Posted 21 Aug 2012 , 9:39pm
post #1 of 11

I took the class with Mike McCarey last year on construction of a standing cake, so I can understand how to do it. He even went over basic pricing for the cake stand that he offered, HOWEVER, I'm extremely concerned about pricing and even time estimate something of this size. Client doesn't care about how much cake there is, more concerned about ensuring the cake is a life size replica.
In class we discussed a $25 to $30 charge for a standing figure. I'm early estimating starting with enough cake to feed 200 and carving down from there.
I know that I'm in Amazing Cakes pricing realm here and it makes me nervous since I've never done something of this cost before. Luckily, I do have help to make it and a full set of instructions! I'm just not sure if this price sound about right?

10 replies
BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 21 Aug 2012 , 11:14pm
post #2 of 11

You are talking about stacking 16-18 cakes with adequate support. PLUS the time to carve a head ( RKT, right?) so that it actually looks like the child.

I think $500 might be a baseline, given the large amount of time you are going to spend. Don't forget that you will be required to make sure that this can be delivered and hold up for at least an hour onsite...you will be using far more expensive materials than you would normally use.

btrsktch Posted 21 Aug 2012 , 11:53pm
post #3 of 11

Irene, you meant to add another zero, right???? icon_confused.gif

howsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
howsweet Posted 22 Aug 2012 , 2:20am
post #4 of 11

I don't understand saying it would have to hold up for at least an hour, where does that come from? Would you want it to "hold up" longer than that?

lorieleann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile