Shortening/hi Ratio Shortening

Baking By Nakakna Updated 16 Aug 2012 , 4:45pm by atudor4

Nakakna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nakakna Posted 8 Aug 2012 , 10:19pm
post #1 of 12

Hi Everyone! First post - glad to be here!

I've been using Spectrum shortening for my frosting recipes that call for shortening and I think it's been causing my frosting to be lumpy. When I color my frosting using gel colors (Wilton), the color doesn't really want to blend in and I see all these little lumps!

So now I'm on the hunt for a different shortening. I live in the Bay Area, California! What's a good brand of shortening I can get that's local?

I'd even get hi ratio shortening, but I'm just a hobbyist and I don't want 50 lbs! Is there a great online shop people use where I can get shortening from with not a lot of shipping costs?

Thanks for any help!

11 replies
Cherylc418 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cherylc418 Posted 8 Aug 2012 , 11:07pm
post #2 of 12

The first time I ordered hi ratio I purchased it from Global Sugar Art in a 12 lb quantity. I can't say for shipping, but anything that is heavy will cost a bundle to ship. Also, be aware that when shipping shortening in the summer it's a good idea pay for a cool pack to ship with it. 12 lbs is not as much as you would assume, and should be perfect for your hobby.icon_smile.gif

ibeeflower Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibeeflower Posted 9 Aug 2012 , 12:57am
post #3 of 12

I buy my high ratio shortening locally. I use the CK brand since it is so hot right now that I can't get my stuff online. Right now I am buying 3 lbs so I don't have to buy a huge amount. As for online, the heat is the problem right now and you will have to pay for ice packs. One site would only ship them to me with expedited shipping with ice packs. Call around your local restaurant supply stores or cake supply stores and see if they have any high ratio that is in small quantities.