Dowel Rods

Decorating By beccaboo1993 Updated 2 Aug 2012 , 6:39pm by beccaboo1993

beccaboo1993 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beccaboo1993 Posted 29 Jul 2012 , 5:45pm
post #1 of 8

i am new at this cake decorating and i am coming across many problems, i cant figure out how to stack my cakes, one of two things happen, my dowel rods slide within my cake and the cake on top of it will slide and destroy or i will stack a cake on top with out dowel rods and the cake will sink. HELP

7 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 29 Jul 2012 , 5:52pm
post #2 of 8

Hi, 2 layers, make a tier. you stack one tier on top of another. you HAVE to put each tier on a cake board of its on. You have to dowel any tier that another tier sits on. I HAVE NEVER had a problem with using wooden dowels . I also use the bubble tea straws, and also the single plate system(sps) how tos on this site under forums , under cake decorating. You CANNOT stack a tier on top on another with out some kind of support. There are many tutorials on youtube on stacking cakes(great ones) and also on Designmea cake.com) Edna is a c/cer and has a wonderful web site to learn so much. If you need more help, don,t mind asking. We are all here to help you.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 29 Jul 2012 , 6:40pm
post #3 of 8

http://www.wilton.com/cakes/tiered-cakes/stacked-tiered-cake-construction.cfm

SPS = single plate separators (by Bakery Crafts). Wilton and other companies have similar versions available.

beccaboo1993 Posted 29 Jul 2012 , 7:36pm
post #4 of 8

thank you so much!

beccaboo1993 Posted 29 Jul 2012 , 7:38pm
post #5 of 8

how long do you let your cakes cool? i think i might not be letting my cakes completely cool, and they might still be warm inside which would be why my dowel rods keep getting messed up...

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 29 Jul 2012 , 8:29pm
post #6 of 8