Best Boxed Cake For Tiers... I Know.. Lame

Baking By MELROSE315 Updated 30 Jul 2012 , 9:17pm by littlestruedel

MELROSE315 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MELROSE315 Posted 27 Jul 2012 , 6:03pm
post #1 of 13

I am a amatuer baker with limited on time for baking. I made a wedding cake with pilsbury yellow and chocolate layers. 3 tiers with 3 ... 2 inch layers. turned out well but the cake is so moist it seems to flatten and make a lumpy look.. only happened on th bottom layers. I used 4 dowels a tier with cake boards. I hoping to use boxed cake that would be a bit firmer? I know I should make from scratch but with 3 little boys and work... you all know .... not much time left for baking cakes! please help.
LL

12 replies
Lovelyladylibra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lovelyladylibra Posted 27 Jul 2012 , 7:23pm
post #2 of 13

you needed more dowels! four wont hold all that weight I think its supposed to be a dowel for every 1.5 inches or something like that.

Addictive_desserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Addictive_desserts Posted 27 Jul 2012 , 9:23pm
post #3 of 13

Yeah I think more dowels. So for instance if it's a 10" cake have 8 dowels, 8" have 6 dowels, etc!

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 27 Jul 2012 , 9:32pm
post #4 of 13

Because your tiers were extra tall - 6", you should have had more support. In the 10" bottom tier you need 6 or 8. They can be (nice, thick plastic drink) straws or dowels - straws are super easy to get and cut where as dowels can be hard to cut and leave a taste behind in the cake icon_sad.gif In the 8" tier that is supporting only a 6"er you only need 3 placed in a triangle pattern.

MELROSE315 Posted 28 Jul 2012 , 4:20am
post #5 of 13

thanks so much... I followed wiltons tiered cake direction and it did not mention more than four dowels... easier fix than changing cake receipe! thanks.. great to have other "cakers" to help!

Annabakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile