Cake Pricing

Decorating By jwhiting12 Updated 25 Jul 2012 , 5:01pm by pmarks0

jwhiting12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jwhiting12 Posted 25 Jul 2012 , 1:06am
post #1 of 7

I am pretty new to selling the cakes I decorate and I am horrible at figuring out pricing, especially for people I know. A friend of my moms' wants a 3 tier buttercream cake plus a smash cake for her granddaughter's first birthday. There will be 2 fondant/gumpaste bows and several fondant accents. My mom wanted to tell her it would be $60...I laughed at her, but when I told her it might be closer to the $100+ range she looked at me like I had 3 heads. Oh and I'm also delivering it 45 miles away. Any advice would be so appreciated!! Thank you!!

6 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 25 Jul 2012 , 1:31am
post #2 of 7

Well, to start with the delivery fee would be $90.

But other than that you haven't given us enough info to help you. How many servings? 3 tiers is a description but not really and indication of size.

DancingCakes2008 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DancingCakes2008 Posted 25 Jul 2012 , 1:33am
post #3 of 7

jwhiting12,
I too have trouble with pricing, but I think you should go closer to the 150.00 mark plus charge for a delivery fee. If prices for supplies and gas in your area are the same as here then the $100 range MIGHT barely cover your cost. But at $60 you would be paying for most of the cake yourself.

Have your mom go shopping for supplies with you and she will quickly learn the cost of "just a cake".

pmarks0 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pmarks0 Posted 25 Jul 2012 , 2:24am
post #4 of 7

Ask your mom if she feels you should be working for free? Essentially she's saying your time isn't worth anything. But she's also basing her idea of pricing on grocery store pricing.