How Do I Get A Richer Less Sweet Buttercream?

Baking By audairymaid Updated 27 Nov 2012 , 7:04pm by BakingIrene

audairymaid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
audairymaid Posted 23 Jul 2012 , 5:48pm
post #1 of 11

I have been using a fairly standard BC recipe for a few years and for the most part it has been very well received. I have a small contingent that say the icing is too sweet. I make mine a little less sweet already since I do not like super sweet frosting. But I am afraid of cutting the sugar too much in my hot and humid climate. Would anyone be willing to share ideas on a stable but not so sweet BC? Should I just up the shortening content like the grocery store bakeries?

10 replies
gramof5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gramof5 Posted 23 Jul 2012 , 6:35pm
post #2 of 11

I noticed a difference when I switched from sweet cream butter to the lightly salted kind.

Blueridgebuttercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Blueridgebuttercream Posted 23 Jul 2012 , 7:02pm
post #3 of 11

If you want richer and less sweet, you should definitely try some of the meringue buttercreams. Those are made with cooked eggs, sugar, and butter and have a higher proportion of butter relative to sugar than a standard confectioner's sugar buttercream. They are very, very rich and not nearly as sweet. They do behave somewhat differently from the confectioner's sugar based BC - it's all about getting the right temperature with them both when cooking and when using them for piping or spreading, so it can take a little time to get the hang of using them.