Vanilla Custard That Can Sit Out Of Fridge

Baking By Heather_bakes Updated 26 Jul 2012 , 1:56am by crumbcake

Heather_bakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Heather_bakes Posted 21 Jul 2012 , 5:05pm
post #1 of 8

I am making the wedding cake for my cousin's wedding. My daughter is also in the wedding party. So it is a busy couple of day.

Due to timing (decorating time, travel, rehearsal etc.) the cake will need to sit overnight plus out at the hall. (so over 24 hours at least). I have a moist cake and buttercream that will be fine but I have never done a vanilla custard before so I need a recipe that will not go bad in that time. Please help!!!

7 replies
kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 21 Jul 2012 , 5:10pm
post #2 of 8

You might want to consider purchasing a sleeve of Bavarian cream filling, which has preservatives that would allow it to sit safely at room temperature for that long. I do not believe that any homemade custard would be able to meet your requirements.

BakingIrene Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingIrene Posted 22 Jul 2012 , 7:05pm
post #3 of 8

FYI some of the sleeved Bavarian "cream" contain no dairy products, only shortening, sugar, starch, water and white titanium dioxide.

If you use nondairy creamer mixed with water and instant pudding mix, you will have an edible food substance that might not go bad before the cake is eaten.

Any recipe with milk, cream MUST be kept refrigerated or your cousin's wedding will be memorable for the large number of trips to the hospital.

kelleym Posted 22 Jul 2012 , 7:08pm
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by BakingIrene

FYI some of the sleeved Bavarian "cream" contain no dairy products, only shortening, sugar, starch, water and white titanium dioxide.

If you use nondairy creamer mixed with water and instant pudding mix, you will have an edible food substance that might not go bad before the cake is eaten.