Is $400 Too Much?

Decorating By Thea519 Updated 19 Jul 2012 , 4:33pm by Thea519

Thea519 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Thea519 Posted 17 Jul 2012 , 7:35pm
post #1 of 17

I'm just starting out and I'm having difficulty pricing my cakes. I've made three wedding cakes and have been told all three times that I don't charge nearly enough. So, I've decided to start increasing my prices. Do you think $400.00 is too much to ask for this cake, as is? The pan sizes would be 12", 10", 8", and 6", which would make the total servings about 135. Any help/opinions would be greatly appreciated!
LL

16 replies
cubbycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cubbycakes Posted 17 Jul 2012 , 7:39pm
post #2 of 17

Definatley not too much...maybe bottom dollar!

cupcakesnbuttercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakesnbuttercream Posted 17 Jul 2012 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 17

No, I don't think it's too much. How do you figure your pricing, though? Do you have a structure? Ex: $xx amount per serving

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 17 Jul 2012 , 7:41pm
post #4 of 17

Hi, your cake is beautiful. $400.00 is definetly not enough. It is fondant covered , right. If so, and the beautiful lace and bow,etc. I would charge at least $650-00, and that is not delivering it. Do you have filling, etc. I usually do. hth

Thea519 Posted 17 Jul 2012 , 7:49pm
post #5 of 17

cupcakesnbuttercream- I've never really used a set formula before, but I figured this one at about $3.00 per serving.

icer101- Yes, it is covered in fondant. And we haven't discussed flavors, yet. She just wanted a quick quote.

Thank you for your fast responses!

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 17 Jul 2012 , 7:50pm
post #6 of 17

I'd be at $606 before the $50 delivery.

cupcakesnbuttercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakesnbuttercream Posted 18 Jul 2012 , 3:10am
post #7 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thea519