Scratch, Wasc, Box

Baking By SweetNSassyTreats Updated 20 Feb 2013 , 4:38am by uberathlete

SweetNSassyTreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetNSassyTreats Posted 11 Jul 2012 , 2:51am
post #1 of 18

Which one of these methods gets the most WOW factor when you bake??? IMO, the only cake that needs to be made from scratch is pound. What are ur thoughts!

17 replies
bakechef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakechef Posted 11 Jul 2012 , 10:09pm
post #2 of 18

I only bake from scratch, and I always get asked "what did you do to this cake, it's so good"?

I've worked on my scratch recipes for a while, I think that between the scratch cakes and the European buttercreams, whipped ganache etc.. it sets my cakes apart, people are used to mass produced and boxed mixes, so these are standout treats. I am a serious hobby baker that doesn't mind having 5 separate recipes to create one cake, I actually enjoy the process.

I have personal reasons for avoiding mixes, I see no need for all of the additives in my foods. I do understand that others couldn't care less.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 11 Jul 2012 , 10:30pm
post #3 of 18

My *original* WASC recipe was designed to taste exactly like a scratch recipe without all the extra fuss and ingredients needed.

bakechef Posted 12 Jul 2012 , 12:58am
post #4 of 18

A while ago before I started baking from scratch exclusively, I made the wasc cake and it was good, but to me still tasted like a mix cake. The texture was excellent though. With all of the stuff you have to add to that recipe, I don't really see how it is much easier than scratch. Proper creaming is the only extra step, and that is made pretty effortless with a stand mixer. I will admit, starting with a mix makes for a more foolproof cake and I understand why people use it.

SweetNSassyTreats Posted 12 Jul 2012 , 4:08am
post #5 of 18