Air Bubbles Under Fondant

Decorating By forjenns Updated 27 Jun 2012 , 4:16pm by kalykreations

forjenns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forjenns Posted 25 Jun 2012 , 8:08pm
post #1 of 9

I am new to this and so far have made 4 fondant covered cakes. I am really struggeling with air bubbles. I cover my cake with b/c and put the fondant on before it crusts. I use the fondant smoothers all over and it looks great.

I usually stick it in the fridge at this point to rest a bit before continueing. When I take it out a couple hours later there are airbubbles all over the top, never on the sides so far.

Thanks in advance
Jennifer

8 replies
ctucker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ctucker Posted 26 Jun 2012 , 1:13am
post #2 of 9

As far as I know, once it is covered in cake, you should not be putting it in the fridge. I am not sure how that would cause air bubbles but it can cause other issues such as condensation.

michellew Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
michellew Posted 26 Jun 2012 , 1:28am
post #3 of 9

dont put it in the fridge, and any air bubbles can be sorted with the prick of a fine needle, just smooth it out after or fill the hole with a little royal icing,x

KrissieCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KrissieCakes Posted 26 Jun 2012 , 2:49am
post #4 of 9

I put most of my cakes in the fridge after covering with fondant and it does not cause air bubbles to form. You have to make sure that their are no air bubbles in the top before smoothing the sides at all. Make sure the top is totally smoothed out and then start smoothing the sides. When I am tempted to adhere fondant to the sides too early I almost always get air bubbles. If you catch it you can gently lift the fondant and push out the air. Also, I find that I get more air bubbles when I put fondant on fresh buttercream. It goes on smoother if the buttercream has crusted or if I put it in the fridge for awhile.

kalykreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile