Home-Based Cupcake Business - Some Questions

Baking By Eliwi Updated 18 Jun 2012 , 3:35am by jason_kraft

Eliwi Posted 18 Jun 2012 , 2:27am
post #1 of 5

Hi! I'm new here (I actually just registered) but I've been lurking for quite a while now and totally love this place.

Anyway, I've been debating this for over a year, and I think I'm finally ready to start my own business. More specifically, a cupcake business. I'm not very good with numbers, and I'm kind of getting confused on how to price my cupcakes....

I usually bake for my family and friends and they've encouraged me to start a cupcake business since I'm "such a good cook", but I'm afraid that people will find them too expensive and not even give them a chance. I live in Chile, and people here are used to buying things very cheap, and I've had a bad experience with this issue before (I used to make polymer clay charms and sell them, my prices were good, not too expensive or too cheap, but people kept telling me that they were too expensive and wouldn't buy from me anymore. Which I find really depressing, because if I were to charge less, I'd be losing money lol), so I'm really nervous.

I've seen people on this page make really awesome cupcakes, and sell them from $2 dollars to $5, but I'm just really afraid that nobody will take me seriously, again.

So, any advice?
I know I make mean cupcakes, and I LOVE to decorate them!! I pour my heart and soul into every cupcake that I make (maybe that's why they taste so good!) and I love what I do. But I'm afraid my dream will be crushed again, and I don't want that to happen.
If it's not much to ask, I'd like to know what a good starting price would be, what kind of cupcakes you guys like the most (to eat, to look at, etc), and at what price you'd buy a really nice and pretty cupcake. icon_smile.gif

Thank you!

4 replies
shanter Posted 18 Jun 2012 , 2:57am
post #2 of 5