I Don't Want To Pay A Fortune!

Decorating By thebittersweetbakehouse Updated 16 Jun 2012 , 9:10am by scp1127

thebittersweetbakehouse Posted 15 Jun 2012 , 10:09am
post #1 of 5

So a potential client contacted me with a rough cake description and asked how much it would be. She wanted a small cake (8servings) with lots of details including 2 movie characters. I politely explained that1 - due to the amount of detail required, the design would be time consuming, hence more expensive and 2 - that it may not be entirely possible to fit that much detail onto such a small cake.

Im relatively new to the business and learning all the time....but i get the impression some clients think the smaller the cake, the less the cost...even if they had the Eiffel tower on top!

She then proceeded to tell me that she didn't want to pay a fortune.

I was at a bit of a loss.....i haven't heard from her since.

Im thinking i shouldn't waste my time trying to cram a price and risk losing out to please absolutely EVERYONE.

Is this bad business practice or...? Surely if you contact a decorator to make a bespoke cake to your specific requirements, you expect to pay above and beyond that of supermarket prices?

Any views would be welcome....thanks!

4 replies
scp1127 Posted 15 Jun 2012 , 10:39am
post #2 of 5

When you market to everyone, or no one and just see what shows up, this is going to happen.

When you don't make your prices clear on your website, you will get this type of call. The client isn't expected to know the price when the industry does its best to hide the prices.

If you market to the target demographic that will buy your cakes, you will get inquiries that are more suited to your product.