I Need Help With Marshmallow Fondant!!!!

Decorating By nicoleberkley Updated 14 Jun 2012 , 10:25pm by Spooky_789

nicoleberkley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicoleberkley Posted 14 Jun 2012 , 3:55am
post #1 of 7

I seem to be having a very difficult time with marshmallow fondant. I am VERY new to all of this and am planning on making a relatively simple two tier birthday cake for my daughter in July. I wanted to practice it several times before I actually have to make the cake come July... and I am glad I decided to do that cause it is seriously kickin' my butt! I have the fondant made and colored and it looks great so far. My problem is rolling it out evenly to where one part of the fondant is not thinner than another. When that happens, obviously lifting it off the counter is a nightmare because the thinner spots tear. It is so thin you can see through it and I don't want it to be like that. I don't want to be able to see cake under the fondant. I also don't really understand how I am supposed to get the fondant from the counter to the cake without tearing it or messing it up. I don't have money (right now) to go out and buy some fancy tool to help me move it so can anyone tell me what the good ol' fashioned way of transferring it would be? Any help would be MUCH appreciated!!! I am dying here!!
THANK YOU!
Nicole

6 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 14 Jun 2012 , 4:28am
post #2 of 7

You can roll it out on a cardboard cake circle dusted with powdered sugar. Shake the circle occasionally to make sure it isn't sticking, then slide it off on your cake. If your cake is an 8" round (4" tall), you'll need to roll it on a 16" circle. It helps to know at what size you can stop rolling it out so you don't continue rolling a piece out too thin that's much larger than needed.

JACrellin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JACrellin Posted 14 Jun 2012 , 4:30am
post #3 of 7