Imbc Problem

Baking By littlestruedel Updated 14 Jun 2012 , 5:55am by littlestruedel

littlestruedel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlestruedel Posted 11 Jun 2012 , 11:09pm
post #1 of 11

I have been making at least one batch of IMBC every week for the past 9 months, and all of sudden in the past few days I am having problems with it!
I foam my egg whites, bring the sugar up to 125 C and slowly add the sugar to the egg whites. In the past, the meringue has not deflated at all, I just crank it up and whip to firm peaks. The past few batches I have made, after adding the sugar, the meringue turns completely liquid and it takes forever to whip it to peaks, and I never seem to be able to get them as firm.

I haven't changed any of my ratios or ingredients and I can't think of anything I am doing differently. The only thing I can think of is that I got a bad batch of egg whites (pretty sure all of my batches have been from the same container of pastuerized whites), or perhaps the eggwhite are too cold? I don't recall ever letting them get to room temp before though.

Any thoughts on why I am having issues?
Here's the ratio I am using:
350gm sugar
100ml water
200 ml egg whites
908 gr butter

10 replies
littlestruedel Posted 12 Jun 2012 , 5:42am
post #2 of 11

No ideas? I'm going to try with a new batch of egg white tomorrow and see if it works better...

lorieleann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lorieleann Posted 12 Jun 2012 , 6:10am
post #3 of 11

it sounds like you could have had some residual fat of some kind on your beater/bowl? Just a little will wreck a meringue.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 12 Jun 2012 , 6:10am
post #4 of 11

Your thermometer can be out of calibration. That's what it sounds like to me.

Digitals can go out from one use to the next. You usually can't fix them because unlike the liquid tube type, there is no rhyme or reason to the differences.