First Caketastrophy!!

Decorating By ellePartyInStyle Updated 6 Jun 2012 , 5:24pm by ellePartyInStyle

ellePartyInStyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellePartyInStyle Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 5:25pm
post #1 of 15

I'm not a professional by any means. I do cakes for friends and family, and occasionally if a friend or an acquaintance that has tried my cakes, requests one, I'll charge them a small fee to cover the costs and a bit of my time. Last year, I made a pink ruffle cake for my daughter's teachers small baby shower luncheon at school. http://cakecentral.com/gallery/2333078/pink-ruffle-baby-shower-cake I made a rum-cake (my specialty) and the teacher loved it! I got so many compliments from the other teachers and parents as well. The guest of honor couldn't stop raving about it and said that her family was fighting over the leftovers she took home.

Two weeks ago, she contacted me to ask if I would make a cake for her daughter's baptism. After a few emails back and forth, we decided on the design. I've done a similar look, with the simple flowers but this would be my first tiered cake. I started working on the topper a week ahead and spent the entire week reading CC forums and watching how to video's. I even did a test run of MFF, since I hadn't really done homemade fondant before. I definitely wanted to try the upside down icing technique to get a clean, sharp edge to the fondant as well.