Do You Use A Barrier When Using Fondant Decor On B/c Cakes?

Decorating By pumpkinpatchquilter Updated 7 May 2012 , 8:38pm by poohsmomma

pumpkinpatchquilter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pumpkinpatchquilter Posted 7 May 2012 , 2:47pm
post #1 of 8

Hi there, I'm a baking newbie and want to make my Mother in Law a buttercream iced cake and decorate it with fondant pieces if I can. I was thinking of trying the faux fondant look using Viva towels. I made this past weekend some cupcakes iced with buttercream (half shortening and half butter) and topped with MMF pieces that had set out for several days to firm up. I iced, decorated, and covered the cupcakes the night before and placed them in the fridge. The fondant decorations wilted and eventually melted by the time they got to the party. I am now reading that it's better not to put fondant in the fridge because of condensation - do you think they melted from refridgeration only? Or does the buttercream contain too much moisture to be decorated with fondant? Would it be wise to use a royal icing or melted chocolate barrier to keep this from happening to my next cake? Or do you think letting the buttercream crust, then "glueing" decorations on with a bit of buttercream and leaving OUT of the fridge would work well? I definitely want to be able to decorate the night before on my next cake if I can. I have three kiddos and am a stay at home Mom so anything I can do in advance aside from freezing helps. OH, and also, would adding gumpaste make any difference in the amount of time it would take to begin to melt and break down the decorations or is there no difference? Any suggestions or help that can be offered are much appreciated! Thank you!

7 replies
Wildgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wildgirl Posted 7 May 2012 , 2:59pm
post #2 of 8

Good question! I have a cake coming up that I was going to try this on - I never thought about it being a problem, so I'm anxious to see what's said!