Fondx Who Has Used It?

Decorating By bostonterrierlady Updated 10 May 2012 , 10:57am by nicunurse

bostonterrierlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bostonterrierlady Posted 7 May 2012 , 12:46am
post #1 of 8

I got some in the mail yesterday. I am not using it to cover a cake. Will be using it for accents.
I was thinking I would use some of it to try a fondant covered cake sometime. So I piched a piece off and it had almost no taste at all. Kind of a sweet plastic taste. Have any of you tried it? It is the Virgin White. Do any of you uase this and does it taste funny to you. How does it taste over a buttercream covered cake?

7 replies
PinkLotus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkLotus Posted 7 May 2012 , 1:23am
post #2 of 8

I tried the black, and hated it. It tasted awful, and I found it hard to work with. But bear in mind I am quite new to working with fondant, so someone with more experience most likely wouldn't have had the issues I had! But I found it to have an awful chemical-ish taste.

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 7 May 2012 , 1:36am
post #3 of 8

I used sexy pink to make a treasure chest. It worked great, I really liked the way it handled. The problem is it is flavored raspberry which is an artificial flavor and gives off a very sickly sweet smell. I would not use it for a whole cake or buy it for my store again for those reasons.

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 7 May 2012 , 2:12am
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by LindaF144a

I used sexy pink to make a treasure chest. It worked great, I really liked the way it handled. The problem is it is flavored raspberry which is an artificial flavor and gives off a very sickly sweet smell. I would not use it for a whole cake or buy it for my store again for those reasons.

That's the FondX Elite, not the virgin white regular FondX mentioned by the OP.