Getting In Practice

Decorating By citygirldesserts Updated 3 May 2012 , 2:12am by Apti

citygirldesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
citygirldesserts Posted 2 May 2012 , 6:40pm
post #1 of 6

I have done several special occasion cakes (fondant and buttercream) but never a wedding cake (besides the time at school). My question is how do you practice making a wedding cake? Meaning if you make a three tier cake what do you do with it? I have used dummy cakes but i want to make a real one.

5 replies
TheSweetTreat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheSweetTreat Posted 2 May 2012 , 6:44pm
post #2 of 6

You could always donate it to a shelter. They will provide you a receipt for tax purposes if you so desire.

Jenise Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenise Posted 2 May 2012 , 7:07pm
post #3 of 6

There are all kinds of people that appreciate a cake. My local fire department loves me (i'm an emt) always taking cake there, then the police department, homeless shelter, senior center etc. I love showing up with a cake, they always seem so happy to see me.

citygirldesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
citygirldesserts Posted 2 May 2012 , 7:32pm
post #4 of 6

thanks ladies...should i assume you guys called ahead?

TheSweetTreat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheSweetTreat Posted 3 May 2012 , 1:35am
post #5 of 6

Yes, I did call ahead because I was concerned with offering cake that was made in my home kitchen that's not approved by the health dept. I'm not a business. But they said that's not a concern of theirs and they would love to have what I've made. I recently took a dozen cupcakes over and felt really good about it. I made my cake and icing and tested out some things and then I was able to give to people less fortunate. The cupcakes tasted great! So I highly recommend donating.

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 3 May 2012 , 2:12am
post #6 of 6