Has Anyone Purchased Sugar Flowers Pre-Made?

Decorating By dmo4ab Updated 3 May 2012 , 1:29am by quietude

dmo4ab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dmo4ab Posted 2 May 2012 , 1:57pm
post #1 of 10

I found this site that sells pre-made sugar flowers. Has anyone purchased these or similar ones? It seems like a lazy way out, but the price seems reasonable compared to the work to make them, and I'm just a hobby baker with limited time! Plus, I've never made them before.

Do you think they could be airbrushed to change the color? I'm particularly looking at the calla lillies for cake later this year. I want them to be orange, but they only sell white.

http://www.cakedeco.com/cgi-bin/webc.cgi/st_sresults.html

9 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 2 May 2012 , 2:47pm
post #2 of 10

I pretty much purchase all my flowers. When I was caking full time I didn't have time to sit and do fiddly work like that. However, I buy from www.avalondeco.com. I still have cases and cases of white flowers. I could airbrush as needed any color I wanted.

dmo4ab Posted 2 May 2012 , 5:01pm
post #3 of 10

Thank you Leah. I'm sure I could make them, but considereing the amount of time it will take me to learn, plus having to purchase cutters or molds, I agree with you. It's worth it to purchase them

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 2 May 2012 , 6:02pm
post #4 of 10

Yes, they are a good company. Nothing wrong w/using pre-made flowersicon_smile.gif

cowie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cowie Posted 2 May 2012 , 6:47pm
post #5 of 10

What do you say to people who ask if you made the flowers by hand?

HamSquad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HamSquad Posted 2 May 2012 , 7:26pm
post #6 of 10