New To Cake Biz Need Urgent Help With Serving 10" &

Decorating By ImSweetOnU Updated 30 Apr 2012 , 4:41pm by reginaherrin

ImSweetOnU Posted 30 Apr 2012 , 8:42am
post #1 of 3

Hi Everyone I am new to the cake biz and I have just got 10 orders in recently the last week. I'm so excited but nervous!!!

My first question is I see according to the Wilton Party Cake says
3in deep round pans a 10" and a 12" cake would give a total of 68 servings.

Here is where I am getting confused...are these charts broken down by 1 layer of 3 in deep of a 10 and 12?
I don't know if this sounds stupid but many websites are confusing me. Some are telling me a 2 layer, 3 layer, 4 layer.

So I'm guessing I would just bake (1) 3in deep round 10" pan and same for the 12" NOT make 2 of each pan correct?

And if I did 2 of each pan then it basically doubles the amount right?

And if it doubles the amount how do they cut it?

Lastly this first cake is for a birthday party in a home, I am guessing they are going to cut the cake like a pie and provide wedges. I was going to print something out to show them this equals 68 slices and heres how.

BUT my last question is I know the Wedding and Party Standard Wilton gives but don't most people at a "home" party don't they expect slices then a "hall" would cut?

Does anyone recommend doing it larger to give more to the person?

She told me 45-50 people but I figured let us use the 10 & 12 (hoping it's only 1 layer and I'll just use my cake leveler to make layers for filling) cause this said 68 servings.

Sorry for the million questions just want to make sure I'm right when quoting a price to her.

Lastly after reading all this, do you recommend I bake 2 of each size and do a 4 layer or leave it at 1 of each pan and cut in half for filling so the 3 in deep would look like a 2 layer cake when I cut it in half.

PS - I asked my wilton instructor for help and I haven't been able to get answers.

2 replies
CWR41 Posted 30 Apr 2012 , 3:39pm
post #2 of 3