Was This A Process Foul?

Business By tdovewings Updated 1 May 2012 , 6:18pm by labelle24

tdovewings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tdovewings Posted 29 Apr 2012 , 11:41pm
post #1 of 57

Late last week my cousin asked me to make a groom's cake for their wedding that occurred on Saturday (green bay packers themed). I'm a hobby baker and occasionally make cakes for free for family members. While at the wedding venue I just so happen to be setting up the groom's cake when the "real" cake company showed up with the wedding cake. I suddenly felt very uncomfortable and guilty. I dawned on me that I could be taking away from someone that has a business doing this. I have no idea why they asked me and not the baker. The baker seemed rather pissed that I was there, and I apologized for making a free cake from them. Another friend told me it is not uncommon from the groom's cake to be done by another person from the center piece wedding cake.

Did I do something wrong? What is the proper etiquette? By the way the cake was a wedding gift, I did not receive or request payment.

56 replies
kimmisue2009 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimmisue2009 Posted 29 Apr 2012 , 11:54pm
post #2 of 57

No ma'am! You did nothing wrong. It is very, very common for the groom's cake to come from someone other than whomever makes the wedding cake. Groom's cakes are quite often campy and fun, even at the most formal of occasions, and are often made by moms, sisters and friends. Heavens, if everyone was as considerate of others as you are, what a better world we would have!

jewels710 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jewels710 Posted 30 Apr 2012 , 12:08am
post #3 of 57

Agreed, your conscience should be in the clear!

MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 30 Apr 2012 , 12:10am
post #4 of 57

You worry too much. Gifting someone with one of your fabulous cakes is a very sweet thing!

Ashleyssweetdesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile