Bitter Italian Buttercream

Baking By NanaKat77 Updated 3 May 2012 , 2:23pm by imagenthatnj

NanaKat77 Posted 23 Apr 2012 , 11:33pm
post #1 of 15

Can someone tell me if Italian buttercream made with merigune powder supposed to have a very bitter taste?. Made 2 batches and both are bitter, can they be saved?? icon_sad.gif

14 replies
KoryAK Posted 24 Apr 2012 , 1:19am
post #2 of 15

I didn't know you could make IMBC with meringue powder... maybe that's the problem? I'm not experienced with the powder, sorry I can't be more help.

AnnieCahill Posted 24 Apr 2012 , 10:51am
post #3 of 15

Do you mean sour? I have never had meringue powder turn anything bitter but definitely sour. Did you use the Wilton brand? The first time I tried Charlotte's Whipped Cream Buttercream I used the Wilton meringue powder and everyone thought it was lemon buttercream. Luckily I used it on a lemon cake so that kind of saved it, but I will never make that mistake again.

If I were you, I wouldn't use meringue powder for any meringue buttercream. I would use the powdered egg whites and reconstitute with warm water. They smell a little funky but you can't tell the difference in the final product.

Annie

NanaKat77 Posted 24 Apr 2012 , 11:02am
post #4 of 15

The receipe I found was the King Aruthur Itialian Buttercrem, and yes I used the Wilton brand of merigune powder. I'm making a wedding cake, and I wanted to try somthing different the American Buttercream.

Thanks again for you help.

NanaKat77 Posted 24 Apr 2012 , 11:06am
post #5 of 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnieCahill

Do you mean sour? I have never had meringue powder turn anything bitter but definitely sour. Did you use the Wilton brand? The first time I tried Charlotte's Whipped Cream Buttercream I used the Wilton meringue powder and everyone thought it was lemon buttercream. Luckily I used it on a lemon cake so that kind of saved it, but I will never make that mistake again.