Making 350 "popcorn" Cupcakes! Looking For Any Adv

Baking By JaceTheAce Updated 24 Apr 2012 , 9:26am by jimcarry

JaceTheAce Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JaceTheAce Posted 17 Apr 2012 , 5:38pm
post #1 of 8

Hello! I am just starting out with my cake decorating business and I mainly just do simple birthday cakes and sheet cakes and such. I have been asked to make 350 cupcakes for a circus themed formal dinner that is taking place in our community. I am just looking for some opinions and tips on how to prepare and also if you think charging $2.50 per cupcake would be fair? I always tend to undercharge, but I know that making this many cupcakes and the detail that will have to be put into them will take a lot of time. I also was wondering about making the batter ahead of time and freezing the batter? Has anyone done that before? Thank You! I appreciate any feedback!
LL

7 replies
Jenise Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenise Posted 17 Apr 2012 , 7:29pm
post #2 of 8

I have never frozen the batter before and have just recently seen the thread on this, so looking forward to trying it, but for that many cupcakes I would start making them a week or two ahead and freeze them, just make sure to wrap them carefully, then I would decorate them in batches and then rewrap in boxes and freeze so that you are not doing all the cupcakes at the same time. On the day of the delivery defrost the cupcakes by removing from the freezer and bringing to room temp before removing the wrapping and they should turn out great.

This is the process I have used in the past and I know that not everyone will agree, but so far it has worked for me! HTH!!

Lots of luck! icon_biggrin.gif

SammieB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SammieB Posted 18 Apr 2012 , 2:04am
post #3 of 8

Do you have red/white cupcake liners or were you decorating the whole cupcake? I saw these the other day: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003ZU5BTC/?tag=cakecentral-20

Johnica10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile