Want To Open A Bakery In Md, Please Help...thanks

Business By sberryp Updated 16 Apr 2012 , 8:18pm by sberryp

sberryp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sberryp Posted 15 Apr 2012 , 7:14pm
post #1 of 3

I have been baking for 2 years now and I would love to open a bakery. As of now, I just bake cakes for friends and family, but I know that I could do well with a bakery. I heard that if I build a separate structure to my home, that I could use it for my bakery. This are would only be used for making cakes,does anyone know the details?

I figured it would be cheaper to add to my home than to buy or lease a commercial business, at least in the long run. Thanks in advance for your help and advise!

2 replies
scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 16 Apr 2012 , 6:45am
post #2 of 3

You are correct. I can't remember the one part, but the bakery cannot be accessed from your home. I'm not sure if it can still be attached. We have a home in WV (where my current separate commercial kitchen is located). My other home is in MD on Kent Island. My husband wanted to build there too, like I could actually run two bakeries two hours apart from each other. That house has an attached double garage with no entrance to the house. I think this scenario would work, but I didn't dig deep enough to remember.

I serve Hagerstown, MD from my WV bakery. I am only about 10 minutes away and it is my primary market because of the higher income levels. I have to comply with all of their codes and am subject to md HD inspections. The two HD requirements were the same anyway. I can't remember because I have them, but I think floor drains are required. This is the one requirement that stops most home kitchens.