Help Please. Skill Level Or Price?

Business By lcressel Updated 17 Apr 2012 , 4:33am by Apti

lcressel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lcressel Posted 15 Apr 2012 , 2:46pm
post #1 of 17

Hello All,

I am a new home baker (Texas Cottage Law) and I recently started selling cakes for sell a little over a month ago. March I was steady and had to turn down a few orders. This month I have only received 4 orders. 2 of which have already been filled.

I have a FB page and a website, although it is not fully optimized, and I have been using a free credit from Google Ads which has been generating at least 6 hits per day. I also just added some car decals to the sides of my car.

My question is do you think that it might be my skill level that is not bringing in any customers or are my prices too expensive?

I have several cakes in my gallery and my basic buttercream cakes start at $3.00 and fondant at $4.00.

I have a full time job but I love making beautiful and tasty cakes and was hoping to one day have storefront. But, lately I have been second guessing if that will ever be.

Please share whatever insight you have.

TIA
Lakeisha

16 replies
ReneeFLL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ReneeFLL Posted 15 Apr 2012 , 3:10pm
post #2 of 17

I think that your prices are fine. As a new baker it will take some time to build up the client base and to get your name out there. You have some nice cakes in your gallery. Keep practicing and learn as much as you can. You will get even better as time goes on. Don't get discouraged. Some months you will have more orders and other months not as many.

lcressel Posted 15 Apr 2012 , 3:17pm
post #3 of 17

Thank you Renee!

ReneeFLL Posted 15 Apr 2012 , 3:19pm
post #4 of 17