How Long Is Your Order Contract?

Business By vgcea Updated 28 Apr 2012 , 5:53pm by vgcea

vgcea Posted 14 Apr 2012 , 6:12am
post #1 of 9

I'm working on my order contract and so far there seems to be a lot of info I want to include to sufficiently cover all bases. I don't want to scare my clients with a super long document but since I have provisions for different scenarios e.g. responsibilities when I deliver vs when they pick up, not all the sections will apply to each client. As much as I would like to have a shorter version for smaller orders (less than $150.00), I like the convenience of one document with each client just initialing whichever applies to them.

How long is your contract? Do you have a different one for different types of events or do you use one form?

8 replies
vgcea Posted 15 Apr 2012 , 10:26am
post #2 of 9

bump

akaivyleaf Posted 15 Apr 2012 , 1:29pm
post #3 of 9

Maybe since I am just starting out with formalization, my order form is only one page. I've been semi-professional for awhile, just moving into doing this for people I might not personally know so that necessitated something written. I guess I haven't fallen into some pitfalls noted here yet.

On another note, I own a business that has been in business for nearly 100 years (passed down in the family) and its contract has gone from none, just a handshake, to an index card, to a 8.5x11 to its present legal size. I do understand that circumstances cause for additional clauses, but I have been very attentive to what necessitates a clause worthy of all contracts, and what is an outlier. I find that the longer the contract, the attention span of the client wanes.

vgcea Posted 15 Apr 2012 , 8:02pm
post #4 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by akaivyleaf

I find that the longer the contract, the attention span of the client wanes.