When Do You Require A Deposit?

Business By annakat444 Updated 14 Apr 2012 , 2:57am by Apti

annakat444 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
annakat444 Posted 9 Apr 2012 , 8:34pm
post #1 of 19

Hi all! I'm a hobby baker and have been doing cakes about 8 months...so still a baby beginner but I'm starting to get a lot of orders! icon_smile.gif I'm working on getting my pricing straight, but another issue I've come up with is when should I require a deposit for a cake and when do I not? Thanks for your feedback! icon_biggrin.gif

18 replies
Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 9 Apr 2012 , 8:38pm
post #2 of 19

I get one on every single order - 50% on order, 50% on delivery/pick up or 2 weeks before the event if it is a wedding or corporate order. The ONE time I didn't follow my own rules, it bit me in the butt and the customer didn't show up.

annakat444 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
annakat444 Posted 9 Apr 2012 , 8:46pm
post #3 of 19

Thanks! Right now I'm only doing orders for family and friends, but people I don't know are starting to ask me to do cakes for them, so I need to be prepared!

jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 9 Apr 2012 , 8:47pm
post #4 of 19

I agree with Dayti - - every order, every time. I require 50% up to $100, and the date is not reserved and it doesn't go on the calendar until I have it. Payment in full is always 2 weeks to 1 month in advance for a wedding cake, at pickup/delivery for everything else.

AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 9 Apr 2012 , 9:01pm
post #5 of 19

Half down to hold date, or entire amount at the time of booking if it's $200 or less.

Stephy42088 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Stephy42088 Posted 9 Apr 2012 , 10:42pm
post #6 of 19