Beginners Cake Stress?

Decorating By smokeysmokerton Updated 8 Apr 2012 , 1:22pm by Vexys

smokeysmokerton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smokeysmokerton Posted 8 Apr 2012 , 12:58am
post #1 of 9

I'm fairly new to cake decorating(been doing off and on for a few years with little time to practice working full time) and I love it, but I find myself getting completely overwhelmed even when I'm just baking for fun. I'll do birthday cakes for family members and after each one I swear off decorating indefinitely because I get so stressed out about it. I know that I can be overly ambitious for my skill level, and I'm so damn anal about every detail that I make myself nuts(which is hell when you just aren't that skilled) I've never taken a class and have learned most of what I know from you guys(thank you!) I still have a long way to go but I feel like the potential is there, it's just that the stress is taking all of the fun out of it. I can't get through a batch of simple cupcakes without having a nervous breakdown icon_rolleyes.gif

Did anyone else go through this in the beginning? How did you deal with it?

8 replies
JSKConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JSKConfections Posted 8 Apr 2012 , 1:40am
post #2 of 9

Are you kidding me? I've been making cakes for about 34 years...years and years just for my own parties and family events...but I still get sooooo nervous that someone won't like it, or maybe it will be dry, or I imagine all kinds of horrors...but its never happened yet! It's totally normal I think! icon_smile.gif

traci_doodle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
traci_doodle Posted 8 Apr 2012 , 2:35am
post #3 of 9