New Cake Business At Home...help!

Business By katel Updated 1 May 2012 , 6:17am by vgcea

katel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katel Posted 3 Apr 2012 , 9:40pm
post #1 of 19

I am thinking of having a small cake business out of my home in South Carolina. I am just starting out, doing basic sheet cakes, flowers, stuff like that. Not too learned on sculpting and stuff yet. What do I need to do to get started...what should I know? Any tips or suggestions to help me out? Thanks so much! Also, how did you price your cakes? I know I'm pricing too low but don't want to overprice since I feel I'm still so new. Probably underestimating myself and abilities...

18 replies
smbegg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smbegg Posted 3 Apr 2012 , 10:04pm
post #2 of 19

This subject comes up a lot on here. Do some searching and you can see what lots of others are doing.

I suggest investing in good pans and tools. I bought all the cheapo stuff, and now that I have started my business up, I am replacing it all with good quality. Also get a good mixer. Don't price too low or then you have trouble when you raise your prices. I am in the Dallas area and my prices start at $2.25 for buttercream and $2.75 for fondant and that is just for basic flavors.

HTH

Stephanie

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 3 Apr 2012 , 10:11pm
post #3 of 19

Well, the first thing you need to do is check your zoning/deed restrictions/HOA covenants, etc. to make sure that you can have a biz in your home.

Second you need to contact your Dept of Health/Dept of Ag to get certified/licensed if you are in a state that permits home kitchens. You might have a Cottage Foods Law in your state - I just don't know.

Then you should get liability insurance.