How Do I Sub Ap Flour For Cake Flour?

Baking By LoriMc Updated 31 Mar 2012 , 5:04pm by LoriMc

LoriMc Posted 30 Mar 2012 , 9:41pm
post #1 of 10

I've seen different equations for it on google search. Anyone have a fail proof formula?

Does it alter the taste or texture? I've never done this before, so I'm a little worried. I would love to get away from buying cake flour, as it is so expensive!

9 replies
Goreti Posted 30 Mar 2012 , 9:57pm
post #2 of 10

http://joythebaker.com/2009/09/how-to-make-cake-flour/

I have used this in the past when I ran out of cake flour.

LoriMc Posted 30 Mar 2012 , 10:19pm
post #3 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goreti

http://joythebaker.com/2009/09/how-to-make-cake-flour/

I have used this in the past when I ran out of cake flour.

And could you tell any difference?

Goreti Posted 31 Mar 2012 , 1:48am
post #4 of 10

I really didn't see a difference.

costumeczar Posted 31 Mar 2012 , 2:16am
post #5 of 10

All you need to do is take out 2 Tbsp of AP flour per cup, you don't need to add the corn starch.

But it does make a difference, even slightly. Cake flour and other types fo flour are made from different types of wheats with different protein contents. the cake flour has less protein, so it creates less gluten, which makes a softer product. Removing the 2 Tbsp reduced the overall amount of protein, so that's why the substitution works. You'll get a better cake if you do use the cake flour, though. If you can't tell the difference and you like the result, though, who cares? Go ahead and substitute away.

LoriMc Posted 31 Mar 2012 , 2:41am
post #6 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by costumeczar

All you need to do is take out 2 Tbsp of AP flour per cup, you don't need to add the corn starch.