1St Birthday Cake

Decorating By sush-jay Updated 2 Apr 2012 , 9:39pm by bakingkat

sush-jay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sush-jay Posted 29 Mar 2012 , 9:38pm
post #1 of 7

Hi Everyone
My daughter's 1st birthday is in 2 weeks and we are going for a Jungle Theme. I am a novice. Had some good experiences with baking cakes, just a 8-9 inch cake for special occasions in my family.I have decided to bake my DDs birthday cake so now I have few questions.

1.The party is on sunday, April 15th in the afternoon from 11am-3pm. We will be leaving to the party hall at around 8am as we need to go there by 9am(its an hour drive) and decorate the hall. So what would be the best timing to prepare the cake so that it tastes fresh and would also be stable throughout the journey, I mean when should I cover it with buttercream and when should I layer with fondant.I am going for a 2 level cake a 6 inch round upon a 10 inch round cake with fruit filling.

2. How should I store it in the refrigerator after applying buttercream and also after covering with buttercream?

3. What is the best way to transfer the cake to the destination safely. Should I cover it in a box?

6 replies
bakingkat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakingkat Posted 30 Mar 2012 , 4:28am
post #2 of 7

It's best to have the cake fully chilled before transporting for maximum stability. Also definitely put it in a box, it A, helps keep it insulated and cool and B, will keep condensation/melting issues from occuring. Some fondants dont do well in the fridge, so it will depend on what kind you use. I would bake 2 days before, fill and let settle overnight ( I do this in the fridge) then make the whole cake the day before, then box it, seal it up, and place in the fridge over night. Take it out right before you leave and keep it in the sealed box until right before the party. By letting it come to room temperature before opening the box you shouldn't have any condensation issues.