Tips For A Newbie?

Decorating By karenina44 Updated 28 Mar 2012 , 4:51pm by Apti

karenina44 Posted 27 Mar 2012 , 1:18am
post #1 of 8

I'm very new to making cakes, and recently tried my first fondant cake. What texture should I be aiming for in the cake batter? How do I get a nice, flat top? Is marshmallow fondant a faux pas?

Any tips for a beginner that you know now and wish you knew then?

Thanks icon_biggrin.gif

7 replies
Ashleyssweetdesigns Posted 27 Mar 2012 , 1:36am
post #2 of 8

Never tried marshmallow fondant but I know lots of ccers use it. I prefer satin ice fondant bc u can roll it super thin without it breaking or tearing. As far as cake batter a few tips I can offer is one make sure all ur ingredients are at room temperature and two never over mix your batter. "the cake bible" is a great book and third practice practice practice!!! Hope that helps! I'm sure u'll get lots of other great advice. Also read through the threads in the forums. I've learned so much just from reading other peoples post.

AnnieCahill Posted 27 Mar 2012 , 1:40am
post #3 of 8

Texture of batter or texture of finished cake? Both of those will depend on the recipe and your desired outcome. Me personally, I like a dense cake with a fine textured crumb-close to a pound cake but not as buttery, if that makes sense. The ideal texture will depend on the baker and the type of recipe.

To get a flat top, use the bake even strips. You can purchase these at Michael's. They look like silver fabric strips that you soak and then pin around the cake. They help the outside not bake as quickly as the inside. You can also use an inverted flower nail in the center of the cake batter (I do this for larger cakes). This will act as a heating core and help the cake bake better in the center.

As far as MMF, no it's not a faux pas. Many people use it successfully. I am personally not a fondant decorator but I have seen a lot of beautiful cakes done with MMF.

annie

Apti Posted 27 Mar 2012 , 2:55am