Newb - Wasc Cake Stuck To Pan!

Decorating By soapmaker-sue Updated 27 Mar 2012 , 3:32pm by soapmaker-sue

soapmaker-sue Posted 26 Mar 2012 , 3:46am
post #1 of 8

I am just starting out baking and decorating cakes. I tried out the WASC - it was divine. It stuck to both my pans!!! I greased (crisco) and floured every millimeter of both my pans. The first pan I tried to get it out after it had cooled about 15 minutes and was still warm. The second cake I let cool completely. The top of both cakes was pretty sticky/tacky. They were baked until they just started to brown and sprang back when touched. In some of the decorating videos I have watched, the bakers had put paper in the bottom of the pans. Should I be doing this? What kind of paper is it? Am I not baking long enough? Am I not timing the removal of the cake from the pan right?

I am sure there are answers to this somewhere but I couldn't find them. Please help me. Today's project wasn't a total loss as I was making pink birthday cake to put in push up pop thingies. My daughter thought the Pepto-Bismal pink scraps were delicious!

Thanks for your help!
Susan

7 replies
KoryAK Posted 26 Mar 2012 , 5:05am
post #2 of 8

Line the bottom of your pans with parchment paper and they will come out like a dream every time icon_smile.gif

FlourPots Posted 26 Mar 2012 , 5:09am
post #3 of 8

That paper in the video was either parchment paper or wax paper...

For me, parchment is the only one I'll use...absolutely nothing sticks to it.
I use it when I bake anything, not just cakes.

You might also find this thread helpful: http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=726166&highlight=collaring

I remove my cakes from their pan at about 10 minutes out of the oven...that's not set in stone though, it could be a little longer or shorter sometimes.

funtodecorate2 Posted 26 Mar 2012 , 5:15am
post #4 of 8