My Very First Attempt

Baking By New-Baker Updated 31 Mar 2012 , 5:06am by RebeccaBloomwood

New-Baker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
New-Baker Posted 17 Mar 2012 , 6:50pm
post #1 of 17

Hi Everyone,

Although I've baked biscuits many times before, I've never decorated them with icing. So this is my very first attempt and I don't think I did too bad considering whats involved. I made my icing from royal icing sugar, rather than from scratch. I coloured it with gel. Piped an outline. Filled it in. Then decorated. Never done any of that before.

I had a few issues with bubbles in the icing.
I bought a cheap piping set and the nozzle was too big I think.
I don't think I made the icing runny enough to fill the outline.
And I tried putting wet icing of another colour into the main icing to make a pattern but I didn't make the colour strong enough for my liking.
And I ran out of icing near the end so used sprinkles!

Few photos. Tips welcomed.

16 replies
New-Baker Posted 17 Mar 2012 , 7:16pm
post #2 of 17

Oh - I also ruined a couple of them putting them into a container, even though I frosted them 4+ hours ago...not sure how you're meant to let the icing dry without the cookies going stale in the open air.

bonniebakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bonniebakes Posted 17 Mar 2012 , 7:35pm
post #3 of 17

very nice!

Bakingangel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bakingangel Posted 17 Mar 2012 , 7:39pm
post #4 of 17

You did a good job. Decorating cookies is not as easy as one might think. Keep up the good work.

justliloleme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justliloleme Posted 17 Mar 2012 , 7:56pm
post #5 of 17

You did a good job!
When you make up your icing you are mixing in some air, leave it to stand for at least a few hrs, the longer the better so the bubbles rise to the surface.

I also keep a pin or a toothpick handy to pop any bubbles that appear.

I leave mine overnight to dry before boxing up, sometimes they need a bit longer.