Making Cakes For Charity...

Business By Crazy-Gray Updated 16 Mar 2012 , 1:23pm by jgifford

Crazy-Gray Posted 15 Mar 2012 , 10:09am
post #1 of 8

Dont get me wrong I absolutely love making cakes for the charities I choose to support for them to raffle or auction and I donate both the full cost and my time... but the more I do the more I seem to be asked for (I say asked but there rarely seems to be a no option! Lol) and the requests are getting more and more elaborate of course increasing my time cost massively. Im only in my first year as a evening/weekend home baker (as have a full time job too) so Im making 2-3 cakes per week or one big one- am I being mean in thinking about the cost to me in both making the charity cake and loss of that weeks business or should I see it as a one-cake-cost marketing event where realistically lots of people will see my cake? (This suggests to me I should plaster it with branding and leave business cards, but that feels mean too as all who see the branding will be aware that Im attempting to use a charity event as an advertising campaign!)

Im considering, if asked and not offered, to donate my time only and let them keep anything over and above the raw ingredient cost after auction, however I cant shake the feeling that time is more valuable than ingredients and so maybe I should just decline?

Hopefully you have some experience of this and can offer some advice, I really dont mind if you think Im being mean- sometimes you have to hear people say it to realise it!

All the best, Gray.

7 replies
Karema Posted 15 Mar 2012 , 11:30am
post #2 of 8

If you really want donate you should but put a limit to what and when you donate. So you can tell charities that they have to submit their proposels six months in advace. Go through all of the proposels and pick one every three months. That will mean that you will be able to donate and you can limit the amount of money that you are dishing out. Hope that helps.